(Add New / Edit) User Details
The User Details, Add New User and Edit User pages are used to view, add and edit user details (respectively). Information on these pages are listed below:
- Open the User settings
- Click Manage Users.
- Click Add to add a new user.
- Open the User settings
- Click Manage Users.
- Click on the name of the user.
- Open the User settings
- Click Manage Users.
- Click on the name of the user.
- Click Edit.
To unpair a user's Trimble ID
- From the top navigation tabs, click the Setup tab or from the Utility menu by clicking the drop-down arrow next to your user name.
- In the Administration Tools section, click Users.
- Click Manage Users.
- Optional: Use the filter to search for the user.
- Click the name of the user to open the User Details page.
- Click the Unpair Trimble ID button.
For accounts with Trimble ID (TID) enabled, the Unpair Trimble ID button is available only when the selected user is currently paired with a Trimble ID (TID migrated user). This button is only displayed for Account Admins and it will not appear for other user roles.
- In the confirmation dialog box, click Confirm to proceed with unpairing the Trimble ID for the user.
A banner confirms the action was successful and that the user is no longer paired. The Unpair Trimble ID button will no longer be available.
After unpairing the Trimble ID, the user must login and pair their user account with a TID account. Note that this action will not remove the user from the TID Admin Console. For more details on how to remove a user from an account, see User Management.
If the Setup tab is not visible, click
, and then select the Setup check box.
Add New / Edit User Details
Enter the user's details in the following fields:
- First Name: Enter the user's first name.
- Last Name: Enter the user's last name.
- User Name: Enter a login name for this user. All user names are unique. If the name is being used by another person, you will be prompted to change it.
- License Type: Click this drop-down arrow to select a license type. The options are as follows:
- Contracted License: Contracted licenses are the licenses included in your Trimble Unity Construct subscription. If your subscription includes 50 user licenses, you have 50 contracted licenses that may be assigned to users to give access to your account.
- Individual License: An individual license is assigned to a user that is required to purchase their license prior to gaining access to your Trimble Unity Construct account. They will be taken through a purchase process the first time they log in during which they will be able to purchase their license using a credit card. For more information, see Individual License Manager.
- Require Single Sign On: Select this check box to allow the user to enter their SSO credentials to log in to Trimble Unity Construct. This option will be displayed only if the Single Sign On feature has been enabled by Technical Support.
- Access to Documents only: Select this check box to give this user access to the Documents module only.
- Company: Enter the company that the user represents in this field.
- Email Address: Enter the user's email address in this field. For users who have migrated to Trimble ID (TID), the email address field is read-only and cannot be changed in Trimble Unity Construct.
- Account Expires: Enter the date you want the user's access to end. Access expiration dates do not remove users from the account. Clear this field to grant them access again.
If a user is logged in and you enter an expiration date in the past for that user, they will be automatically logged out when attempting to take another action.
- Hide in Global Directory: Select this check box to hide this user in the global directory, which will prevent them from being added to multiple accounts. When adding existing users from another account, this person will not be listed in the list of available users.
- Multi-factor authentication: Select the Require 2-step verification when the users logs in check box to enable multi-factor authentication for the user.
Until MFA is enabled for your account you will not see this MFA toggle field.
- Add New User as Contact: Select to add the new user as a new contact or to an existing contact record.
You can pre-populate the business information for a user when you are adding them. Doing so makes the registration process easier for users as they will be required to complete this information.
Users will be required to complete the fields marked with * when logging in.
- Type of Business*: Click this drop-down arrow to select the type of business the user represents. This is a list of default options that cannot be altered.
- Department: Enter the name of the department the user belongs to in this field.
- P.O. Box/Suite: Enter the user's P.O. Box or Suite address in this field.
- State/Province*: Click this drop-down arrow to select the user's state or province.
- Postal/ Zip Code*: Enter the user's zip code in this field.
- Office Fax: Enter the user's office fax number in this field.
- Business Pager: Enter the user's business pager in this field.
- Title: Enter the user's job title in this field.
- Business Address*: Enter the user's business address in this field.
- City*: Enter the city of the user's business address in this field.
- Country: Click the drop-down arrow to select a country from the list.
- Office Phone*: Enter the user's office phone number in this field.
- Business Cell Phone: Enter the user's business cell phone number in this field.
The Custom Fields tab lists all user type global custom fields created for the account. Complete all pertinent fields for users that you are adding to the account. These same custom fields can be used as criteria for filtering.
For more information on adding user custom fields, see Manage Custom Fields. Ensure that you select the User object type in step 4.
Available only on the User Details page
- Add As Contact: This button appears only if the user is not yet a Trimble Unity Construct contact. Click to add the user as a contact. If the company name is not recognized you will be prompted to save it.
- Manage Membership: Opens the Manage Membership page where you will be able to set the user's project membership; validate their account and project roles; and determine the project level template to add them to.
- Reset Password: Resets the user’s password and sends the user an email with their new password. This is necessary if the user has exceeded the maximum number of failed password attempts and has been locked out of Trimble Unity Construct.
- Unpair Trimble ID: Click to clear the link between the user's Trimble Unity Construct profile and their Trimble ID account. This button is available only when the user is currently paired with a Trimble ID. This button is only displayed for Account Admins and it will not appear for other user roles. For more details, see the Unpair Trimble ID (TID) section on the User Details page.
- Edit: Edits the details of the user's account record.
- Cancel: Click to return to the Manage Users page.
Lists the projects that the user is a member of. Click the project title to be redirected to the Project Details page.
List the roles that this user is a member of at the account and project level.
Lists the contact records for this person.
Available only on the Add User page
- Notify user that he/ she has been added: Select this check box to send an email notification to the user when they have been added. The email will be sent to the new user along with a link where they can enter their password and set answers to security questions. When setting or updating the password as a new user, the username of the account will be included on the Set Password or Change Password page.
For Trimble ID (TID) enabled accounts, an email will be sent automatically to new users with the TID invitation link. The newly added users must follow the registration process, which includes creating a Trimble ID account.
Available on the Add/ Edit User pages
- Save: Click this button to enter the user's details and add the user or save changes to the user details.
- Cancel: Click this button to discard any changes made to the user details.